Ab-Soul Photo Credit: The Come Up Show

Herbert Anthony Stevens IV, or Ab-Soul as the world knows him needs no introduction- the man is nothing short of a hip hop shaman, the man’s trance-like vibe and studio albums have been critically aclaimed since the start. Ab-Soul has gained a cult following above and beyond his mainstream bars with Black Hippy group, that’s earned him a title as one of the dopest beat producers around.

As part of the Black Hippy Group, Ab-Soul’s hip hop style isn’t thrown in the shade either- this guru has collaborated with the likes of Mac Miller, Jhene Aiko, JMSN, Danny Brown, Rapsody, Chance The Rapper, Mod Sun, BJ The Chicago Kid, Retchy P, Action Bronson, Chuck Inglish, Nipsey Hussle, Pete Rock, Mod Sun, Jesse Medina, Rich Hil, Metasota, Vic Mensa, Camp Lo, Da$h, Sir Michael Rocks, Smoke DZA, Twista, Talib Kweli, Black Thought, Childish Gambino, Murs, Problem, Casey Veggies, Skeme, Joe Budden, Joey Bada$$, Kendrick Lamar, ScHoolboy Q and many others. If there’s a man that knows where a lot of bodies are buried behind doors, Ab-Soul’s that man.

What of his style though? Ab-Soul’s not been known to cop a load of ice, and just like Em there are some that don’t need a load of bling to make a statement. Ab-Soul makes his name with his beats, the occasional iced out earring set and occasional hip hop chain. For all those out there that either want a style as dope as Ab-Souls, or are about a little more flash like French Montana, Hip Hop Bling is your stop for FIRE iced out jewelry, without dropping the cost these rappers got on lock.

What’s Ab-Soul up to today? He seems to be taking a break, his last project was in 2016 with Do What Thou Will- whatever he needs to get back into the game, we support him. With luck, he’ll be back in the studio soon- sooner than Em dropping Kamikaze after Revival.

Ab-Soul Discography:

  • Studio Albums
  • Longterm Mentality
    • Released: April 5, 2011
    • Label: Top Dawg Entertainment
    • Format: Digital download
  • Control System
    • Released: May 11, 2012
    • Label: Top Dawg Entertainment
    • Format: CD, Digital download
  • These Days…
    • Released: June 24, 2014
    • Label: Top Dawg Entertainment
    • Format: CD, digital download
  • Do What Thou Will
    • Released: December 9, 2016
    • Label: Top Dawg Entertainment
    • Format: CD, digital download